Jam Plan, Revisited

So, in honor of my been-moping-too-long-try-and-suck-it-up-and-keep-swimming efforts this week, I thought I would revisit my Jam Plan from the summer and update it on what I actually accomplished. If you have no earthly idea what I’m talking about, please see my previous Jam Plan post

So, here goes:

Not-So-Fertile Girl’s Jam Plan (Thanks, Monica!)

1. Create a border of flower beds around the 3 sides of perimeter fencing in our back yard.

2. Expand our patio.

3. Build a fire pit on the corner of our patio.

4. Hang extra shelving in the laundry room for better organization.

5. Set up an account on teacherspayteachers.com to make some pennies off all my teaching materials/ideas.

6. Get my classroom completely open-house/first-day-of-school ready, so that the threeworkdays (when we’re not allowed to work at all, but forced to sit through training we’ve already been through) don’t stress me out and ruin the start of my year. (County ensured that stress was still prevalent, though, in their own magical/

maniacal way)

7. Update and make copies of all the materials I will need for at least the first 3 days of school (see reason in #6.)

8. Not go in to school at ALL in August until we start back so I can still feel rested after having completed #’s 6-7 during July. (I did go in, but only to help a friend paint some tables to help her avoid a lot of stress. I didn’t do my own work, so that doesn’t count, right? 😛

9. Sit by the ocean as many days as possible.

10. Reread the Harry Potter’s. Hubby is finally reading them, and I am jealous! :-P

11. Work-out at least 4 days a week, try for 5.

12. Stacked Flower Pot project and paint our name on it to place by the front door.

13. Paint old black lamp/clock/picture frame silver so it will match our bedroom.

14. Come up with a plan of how to decorate our bedroom.

15. Clean out and organize the “spare” room AGAIN.

16. Study new Common Core curriculum and figure out 1st 9 weeks worth of lesson plans.

17. (get ready to laugh) Organize my Pinterest boards. Go through and look at all the stuff I’ve pinned and figure out what I actually want to keep and DO. 

18. Do some more of the Pinterest stuff. So far, I’ve pinned about a billion things and done about 20 (including recipes).

19. Work on my writing more. I’ve sort of let blogging take over my writing. I was hoping the blog would inspire me to spend more time on my other writing but it seems to have had the opposite effect.

20. Find the nerve to do something I’ve wanted to do for a while.

21. Spend better time with Hubby. Play some board games or something where we are actually looking at each other…less time “hanging out” while we watch TV or are both on computers.

 

22. Learn the basics of sewing.

23. Finally send off to have a extra certification (that I completed a year and a half ago!) added to my teaching license.

24. Catch up on some long-overdue doctor’s appointments that have gone by the wayside in At-the-RE-Every-Other-Day Land.

I have to say, I think that’s pretty impressive. Obviously, there’s still a ton of stuff on there that I wanted to get done, but that’s a lot of items crossed off the list!

Pretty much, all I have time to do right now is lesson plan and grade papers upon papers upon papers. However, I think I’m going to try and continue my Jam Plan through the school year, especially right now when we are just twiddling our thumbs waiting to start the Follistim. Maybe I will just set 1 school-related goal and 1-2 real-life goals per week.

This week’s Jam Plan:

1. Grade all currently collected papers.

2. Finish the stacked flower pot project.

3. Sort the back yard out – it’s a mess! (Cut the grass, edge around and weed the flower beds, tidy up the patio)

What will you do this week to keep your mind off infertility/TTC?

2 thoughts on “Jam Plan, Revisited

  1. You’ve been busy! I love the idea of giving yourself weekly goals. Of course, I would end up putting everything off till the last possible moment. But I’m sure *you* won’t do that. 😉 Just look at everything you got done this summer!

    • It was really busy, but an infertile’s gotta do what an infertile’s gotta do, right? Of course I would *never* procrastinate in such a way! 😛 So, far I’ve done nothing on that list, but I only made it yesterday, so there’s still hope.

Leave a comment